Creative Writing Contest (Tri2 19/20) Winning Entry

Text, letter

Description automatically generated

June 6, 2020

We are delighted to announce that the winner of Creative Writing Contest (Trimester 2 2019/20) is Aida Nabila binti Sumardi! Allow us to take this opportunity to thank all those who had submitted their work. We hope that more students will support this activity.

A Journey

Could years of silent confession reached the other person?

University of London, United Kingdom 1997.

The New Year greeted me with a breath of summer air that could strike a fever if one stood too long in the sun. The day had just started and I choose to be at this unfamiliar place. I marched through these buildings with the accompanies of the dark red-chocolate bricks walls with its own cover of strangles leaves that proof its existence, journey and history throughout the years.

As I was immersed in its scenery, I had reached my destination for the day.

Gaining my strength and confidence, I walked into the hall. Inside, I was welcomed by the dimmed yellow light, marron coloured chair and the noises of people. Each steps I took towards my seat, I couldn’t help noticing the glances and small talk of people that were full of curiosity and judgement.

‘How stuffy’ I told myself as I took a seat.

Cornering myself to this soft leather chair, I wish for this anxiety, awkwardness and stuffiness to disappear when I accidently saw you.

Ba-dum! ‘What is this feelings?’

It felt like a sharp lightning had hit my heart that made me clueless for a moment. ‘What is this?’ I asked again but I don’t have any answer.

Ignoring your attraction was a violence of me but looking at your for too long was also a pain to me. I knew from the very beginning that our path may never crossed and looking at you from across the sea of humans was the only vulnerable skill that I’m able to use.

For many years I’ve encounter such scene and I always knew the ending. But for once, I want to change it.

Time passes and your figure had long passed my sight and all I pray was for another miracle. I pray for god to let us cross path at any time in this place even just for a few seconds. I pray and it was answered.

Inside the small lecture room, there were only a few students and we met again. Containing my bucket of happiness, I walked past the lecturer and took a seat near the aisle. Glancing secretly to the other side, I could see your smile and I believe it will become a light that could brighten any dark days in my life.

Fast forward, most our classes, unexpectedly, were in the same time and day and our encounter were uncountable. Every day I look forward to meet you and hearing you said ‘hello’ or asked ‘how are you today’, it was enough to get me going for the whole day.

But, reality check in. I said it before and I will say it again, I knew from the very beginning that our path my never crossed but god had given me these chances and I shall use it wisely. Our path my cross today but will it cross towards the next phase of our life?

**************

Bern, Switzerland 2009.

The wind shook the tree I was under, rustling the leaves. I pushed myself lightly on the swing, enjoying the small breeze. I closed my eyes, feeling the shimmering sun shone on my face and I let the pages of book turn with the blow of the winds. The blue sky was cloudless as I opened my eyes and your face was suddenly in my mind. I’m not even surprised anymore because you were always in my mind, always.

I remember the way your russet brown eyes shone whenever you look at me. I remember how I always look at your thin, pink lips moved to say ‘hello’ to me. It had been 6 years since I last saw you but I still remember your voice, our adventure and memories after all this years.

The sun came out again and I decided to put away the thought and get myself and icecream when I heard a crack from the garden door, signalling someone entering. I step back and look at the door anxiously, waiting for this unknown visitor to make its appearance.

“Hello?”

It was a man.

Not just any man, but a man that I longed for after all these years.

“Annie, your maid, said that I could just barge into the garden and wait. I was… I’m sorry if I was being rude and make you surprise.” He said while trying to hide his shyness by touching his back hair.

“It’s ok. I like surprises, especially when it is you.”

Awkwardness fill in the air but we did not hate it.

“6 year isn’t it?”

I smile while looking at him and I knew that god had once again answered my prayers.

The pages of book that I was reading had been covered by the fallen leaves but the words written beneath it was a memory that I had sealed for years. A poem of us.

I Want To Know the Real You

Sitting and talking beside you is all I want after the first time I met you

The feeling of wanting to know you more have grown inside of me, and

I grab all the chance that I could in order to be closer to you

I wish to become one with you

All I ask is for some more time and space to be with you

To know the real you

Would you grant my wish?

My life had never been an easy ride and love was always out of question. But, ever since I met you, my world had turned upside down. There are some uneasiness but I never hate it. Seeing you again after all this year had definitely awaken a spirit that had long being kept and supressed deep inside my heart.

“So…How are you today?”

A new journey is about to begin. I wonder, where would we end up this time?

Leave a comment